Friendship and Forgiveness

Hey readers,

Today we are going to discuss the relationships between the characters in this book. Iris is friends with Pearl and the Rainbows (spoiler: until Suze finds out that Iris was lying about her father being in World War 2). This first question is for Pearl and Iris’ friendship. What would you do if you found out you friend was a Private Investigator (or helping one). For the Rainbows, there are poems written about what you would have done if you found out your friend was lying to you about something very important. Here are our responses to this prompt:

Julia: If I found out that my friend was a private investigator, I would be mad at first that she didn’t tell me earlier. I would feel used and be hurt that I was lied to.  After I got over being mad about it, I would probably try and help her like Pearl helped Iris. It sounds like fun to help her and it would just be helping a friend.

Poem: 

Like a blow to the head,                                                                                                                                Or a slap in the face,                                                                                                                                         I am hurt.

It hurts so much,                                                                                                                                           The empty feeling inside.                                                                                                                         Once she was trusted,                                                                                                                                  But betrayed me now.

Like a shot to the heart,                                                                                                                                    I am wounded.                                                                                                                                                 To scared to trust,                                                                                                                                           To furious to function,                                                                                                                                              I fight with no words.

She tries to apologize,                                                                                                                                       But I say nothing.                                                                                                                                                To hurt for words,                                                                                                                                                   To hurt to forgive.                                                                                                                                                 We both hurt,                                                                                                                                                    But it’s no use.                                                                                                                                                     I cannot forgive a lie.

Margaret: If I was Pearl, I don’t think I could do this for Iris. I would feel like I had been used, and lied to. I would also feel like she wasn’t really my friend. She wouldn’t stand up for me if she was given the choice, she would sacrifice my friendship to keep discovering new details in her investigation. If I was Pearl I would have seen how uncaring of a friend Iris was, and instead of waiting for her to choose someone else over me, I would have walked away.

my father’s in World War 2

like a match dropped

to start a wildfire

I was kind

sweet like sugar

feeling so bad for her

her lies

she never really liked me

or my friends

we were just information

in easy access

too dumb to figure it out

and when she says sorry

I don’t hear a sound

because sorry

is an empty word

and how do I know she isn’t lying again

I don’t

so I can never forgive the girl

who painted over our rainbow

with blue

so you’re sorry are you,

too bad

Who do you think Iris’ lies hurt the most?

~Julia and Margaret

This entry was posted in The Girl is Murder. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friendship and Forgiveness

  1. Sweetpea says:

    I might be upset at first, but if she had a good reason for not telling me sooner I would accept that. I agree with Julia that I would help her because that is what good friends do and it seems fun!

Leave a Reply

